Healthy Living

Happy Thanksgiving 

Hello everyone! I hope you all are well and preparing to celebrate on this Thanksgiving Day. I sure am. I enjoy the holiday season. It’s a nice break in the routine.
My family and I will be celebrating with my grandparents and my mom’s brother. We always have lots of good food and my uncle and I have a lot of fun at my mom’s expense. 🙂 So, the day should be a good one.
Every year since, well I can’t remember when, I have gone to Gatlinburg, TN with my grandparents. We always leave the Sunday following Thanksgiving. We’ve done this over twenty years for sure. My mom started going with us 3 or 4 years ago. We love this trip! So, Thanksgiving brings with it the excitement of going to the Smokey Mountains.
We usually spend 2 days in the Smokeys. We spend 1 day driving through the mountains taking photos of waterfalls and creeks that we have tons of photos of already from previous years. But we don’t have one from this year. :-)- We visit the Indian reservation in Cherokee, NC and enjoy the little shops. We walk the streets of Gatlinburg and visit the shops there as well. It’s just a very neat place. If you have read my blog much, you know I love mountains and creeks. Gatlinburg has plenty of both.
We spend 1 day in Pigeon Forge shopping in the outlet malls and other little shops. We love to go to Smokey Mountain Knife Works. That’s the place to go for survival tools. 
In the past, we have visited Cade’s Cove, which is a nice scenic ride in the mountains. We have also hiked to a couple of large waterfalls. The first time we hiked to a waterfall, my grandma wore her casual boots. They were by no means hiking boots. We did ok going to the waterfall, but coming back was a different story. It was downhill, and the ground was slick. Downhill, slick and casual boots don’t mix. That spells disaster. My grandma was already having to lead me since I’m visually impaired. So, if she slips, we both go. Well, my grandpa was on one side of her and I was on the other side. We literally held her up as she slid. She never fell, thankfully. We all survived and the next year she brought tennis shoes and we hiked to another waterfall.
It was my turn to struggle through that hike. It was so muddy and threatened to rain on us. We had to cross a creek on stones. I couldn’t see the stones and my grandpa had to help me across and it was a miracle that we didn’t both fall in.After this hike I had to buy new tennis shoes because mine were ruined by mud. It was worth it though. I have lots of good memories in the Smokeys.
I will share photos with you when we get back. I could share them now, but they’re from last year. Of course, you will want to see them from this year. 🙂
I wish you all a very Happy Thanksgiving! I hope you are able to celebrate with your family and friends. May God bless you and give you a special day.
For more information about Homestead Nutrition, or to make an appointment, email me at homesteadnutrition@dr.com. Have a healthy and blessed week! 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

