Healthy Living

Tragedy, Headache, Garden, & Miss Priss’ Diet 

Hey y’all! Hope you are enjoying the beautiful Fall weather. We sure are! It is a little hot today, but it has been very nice until today.
We had a tragedy on the homestead Sunday. Snowflake, our 5 month old baby goat, has been sickly all of her short life. Over the past 2 weeks or so I have gotten involved more in her care. It brought back the really sad memories of Kami, another baby goat I took under my wing. As with Kami, nothing we did for Snowflake helped. I hated to see her suffer. I prayed and asked God to heal or help me heal her, or to just let her go to sleep peacefully. I prayed that prayer Saturday night. Sunday Snowflake left us. It appeared as if she just went to sleep. It was very sad. God answered my prayer, but it was still hard.
A friend recommended that I blog about my headache experience from last week. I thought it was a good idea, so here goes. Sunday, September 25th I awoke in the early morning hours with a headache. I used to have headaches really bad before learning how to eat properly and supplement. This particular morning it was bad. I applied peppermint oil to my head, which usually works. It didn’t this time. I knew I had church and needed to be able to function there. I play the keyboard and sing, so it’s important to be able to think.
I resorted to the unthinkable. In those early hours I took a half of a migraine pain killer. It did nothing. I took 2 more halves over 2 or 3 hours. None of them did any good.I made it through church, came home and ate, and went to bed. Before I ate I checked my blood pressure because of the pain killers. It was high, so I took 3 blood pressure lowering Ayurvedic herbs over a couple of hours time. I was also taking Magnesium. 
I dealt with this headache until Wednesday. I didn’t take anymore pain killers. Wednesday night I ran 2 or 3 inches of hot water in my bathtub. I added three fourths of a pint of Dead Sea salt to the water and laid in it. I made sure to submerge my head as much as possible. I soaked for 20 to 30 minutes. Then I put my face in it as much as I could. I am not exaggerating when I tell you I got out of the bathtub pain free and haven’t had a headache since. Now I know what to do first thing if I have another headache.
On the gardening end of things, I don’t think I’m going to have a Fall garden after all. My plants aren’t doing well, and I need to work on remineralizing my soil. So, that’s my plan going forward. 
Miss Priss is doing better with her new raw diet. The nice people at BARF World have been very helpful. I think this is a great company. 
For more information about Homestead Nutrition, or to make an appointment, email me at homesteadnutrition@dr.com. Have a healthy and blessed week! ☺️

Standard

Leave a Reply

