Healthy Living

Seitan Philly Steak & Cheese Sandwich 

Hey y’all! I wanted to share a quick post about our visit to High Noon Cafe yesterday.
We had the High Noon special for Thursday which was Seitan Philly Steak & Cheese sandwich with potato salad. Remember, High Noon is a vegetarian/vegan cafe. So where does the steak come from? Well, I didn’t know and I didn’t do my homework before we went. The sandwich was good even with vegan cheese. It was a pretty large sandwich too. The potato salad was delicious, and that’s coming from someone who doesn’t like just anyone’s potato salad. It was a good meal for the price, which was $9 and some cents.
After We arrived back home, however, I did the research I should have done before we went to eat. Seitan, which is a vegetarian meat substitute, is made from wheat gluten. Honestly, you could not tell it wasn’t meat. It was good, but I personally am not a fan of gluten. I’m not gluten intolerant, but I do not think it is healthy. 
My mom is gluten sensitive and it did bother her. There is no doubt, it is a tremendous meat substitute, but be sure you count the cost before you try it. If you aren’t sensitive to gluten, you owe it to yourself to try it once. They make chicken, steak, sausage, etc. from it. It was an interesting lunch for sure.
Take care! 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

