Healthy Living

News from the Barn & Garden

Happy Thursday y’all! Hope you are having a great week. It is still very hot here. We are just doing our best to make the best of it. 🙂
As I shared on Saturday, we had a new baby goat born that morning. She is living up to her name, Frisky. We have her and her mother, Patches, in our small pasture behind our barn. This is also where our chicken house is. We have an opening in the small pasture fence just big enough for the chickens to go into the larger pasture to forage. Well, Frisky found the opening. She was in the larger pasture this morning and couldn’t find her way back. We went into town this morning for a bit and when we returned home she was in there again. 🙂
My dad purchased a baby buck yesterday. He wants to produce spotted goats since they bring more profit. This little guy is black with white splashes on him. Hence, his name, Splash. The only problem with Splash is that he is a bottle fed baby. We thought we were finished bottle feeding when we weened Effie. 🙂 Poor little guy, he has cried himself hoarse. You can’t help but feel sorry for him. He will adjust to his new surroundings soon, I hope.
On the gardening front, one of my tomato plants has 3 tiny tomatoes starting to grow! My carrot plants, broccoli plants, Kale, and cucumbers are looking good. We finally planted my tiny pepper plants in the ground. They are looking ok, but they are very small.
Our family garden is doing great. We have lived here for fifteen years, and I don’t remember the garden doing this well. We covered it with goat and probably chicken manure last Fall I believe. Not exactly sure of the timing, but that’s what we did. It has made the difference.  
My little garden didn’t get the manure because I didn’t know what I would be doing with it this year. I plan to be sure it gets it this year as well as wood chips, dead leaves, etc.
As I posted yesterday, you can follow my blog on Bloglovin now. This may be more convenient for some. Please feel free to share my blog with your friends. Hopefully, I will have a website coming soon. Keep your eyes open for that.
For more information about Homestead Nutrition, or to make an appointment, email me at homesteadnutrition@dr.com. Have a healthy and blessed week! 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

