Healthy Living

Little House Series & My Thoughts 

Happy Thursday to everyone! Hope your week is going well so far. It has been a busy week for me. I work part-time at a Christian school, and we are busily wrapping up the 2015-2016 school year. We are all excited about that! We have our awards presentation on June 3rd and then my family and I are off to the Ozark Mountains for a few days where we will enjoy God’s beautiful creation and revisit the Laura Ingalls Wilder home.
We visited Laura’s Rocky Ridge Farm some years back and have since visited De Smet, SD where Laura and her family settled in the 1880s. We saw the shanty on the homestead, a replica of the dugout from the Plum Creek days, visited the final home Pa and Ma lived in there in town, and visited the cemetery where the whole family is buried except Laura, Almanzo, and Rose. I loved South Dakota and could have just moved in to the Ingalls’ home and stayed. 
One of the neat things about De Smet was when cars drive slowly or even just moderately slow down the road our hotel was on, it sounds like the trotting of horses’ hooves. That makes it really nostalgic. I don’t know if the average person would notice or think that, but remember I’m legally blind and sounds are magnified to me. 
I have been a huge Laura Ingalls Wilder fan since my family bought me the Little House books as a young child. In fact, I can credit those books with being the first introduction I had to the word homesteading. I always thought homesteading was as much a part of the past as Laura and her family. It wasn’t until recently, the past 5 years or so, that I have come to realize that homesteading is very alive and thriving in the twenty-first century.
If you have never read the Little House books, you owe it to yourself to do so. I can’t tell you how many times my mom and grandma have read them to me. Neither can I tell you how many times I’ve listened to them on audio. I know some have watched the movie, but it isn’t as true to the story as the books. Also, The series by Roger Lee McBride called the Rose Years is a continuation of Laura’s story in Missouri and is very good. I highly recommend both sets of books.
I will let you know all about our trip and share photos when we get back home. Meanwhile back at the goat barn, Effie has done great without her bottle. We were worried that she would disturb the peace for a few days, but she hasn’t. We have another baby to ween from her mother in a few weeks and 2 more a few weeks after that. I hope they all do as well as Effie.
For more information about Homestead Nutrition or to make an appointment, email me at homesteadnutrition@dr.com. Have a healthy and blessed week! 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

