Healthy Living

Bad to the Last Drop 

I hope everyone is doing well and you have had a great week. We have had lots of rain in Mississippi. We have thought we might need to build an ark if things do not change. 🙂 Due to the rain, and the fact that I don’t have any sawdust yet, I have not been able to start my garden experiment. Hopefully I can get that underway soon.
Regarding news from the barn, Effie, our bottle fed baby goat has begun refusing her bottle. She started at 4 bottles a day and then was reduced to 3 bottles a day. At 2 months of age, we were planning  to reduce the bottles to 2 a day. This week on Monday, we fed Effie some raisins. That is a trick we learned to help frightened goats become more friendly. Of course, Effie is very friendly, but we were feeding the others, so we shared with her also. We do not know if that is a factor or not, but since then she has taken very few bottles. She is eating good and grazing. So, my opinion is that she weened herself and saved us the trouble. 🙂 Seriously, we really don’t know what happened. If you have any thoughts on this, let me know.
In relation to health, I was going to write about the dangers of High-Fructose Corn Syrup, and again, I have found so much information that I can’t share it all. I am going to simply give you a couple of links and let you do your homework for yourself. Just like MSG, which we talked about before, HFCS is a health destroying agent. It is in most, if not all, processed foods. It is in drinks including fruit drinks and dairy products. This is why it is so very important to READ LABELS! If you know the dangers, then reading will help you avoid the problems these food additives will bring.Here are the links:
http://drhyman.com/blog/2011/05/13/5-reasonshighfructosecornsyrupwillkillyou
High-Fructose Corn Syrup eBook – Mercola.com 

I hope this information is helpful to you. For more information about Homestead Nutrition, or to make an appointment, email me at homesteadnutrition@dr.com. Have a healthy and blessed week!

Standard

Leave a Reply

