Healthy Living

Smoothies, Garden Plans, & More 

I hope you have had a healthy and blessed week. I am blogging a day early this week due to conflicting schedules for tomorrow. I have visited a couple of times this week with pictures from our homestead and news from the barn. Today I am just going to ramble a bit.
I have been making some really delicious smoothies. I have grown to enjoy a good smoothie for breakfast most mornings. Here are some of the foods I throw in. I use organic coconut milk for my liquid.  I also use a very small amount of organic grapefruit juice. I was using Greek yogurt until I heard how much sugar is in it. I am not fond of dairy products from a health prospective anyway. I throw in some organic spinach, Kale, carrots, butter nut squash, mandarin oranges, pineapple, apple, banana, strawberries, blueberries, dates, coconut, oats, jcama, and anything else that gets in my way. 🙂 I blend all of this together and it makes a delicious smoothie. Let me know if you try it. For some really good smoothie recipes visit greenblender.com.
I have a small flower bed area in front of my small office here on the homestead. Last year My mom and I planted herbs in it. They didn’t do well, so this year I am planning to plant some vegetables and maybe some fruit trees. I am sure I will also plant a few herbs again. I am going to be experimenting with soil remineralization. I will write more about this as I go along. Right now, it’s just an idea I am experimenting with.

For more information about me, Homestead Nutrition, or to make an appointment, email me at homesteadnutrition@dr.com. I hope you are able to get out and enjoy the beautiful Spring weather if it has arrived in your neck of the woods. 🙂 Have a healthy and blessed week! 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

